Sydney Swans announce new captain

first_imgThe shock call comes after co-captains Jarrad McVeigh and Kieran Jack stepped aside from the role after several years at the helm. McVeigh and Jack will remain in the club’s leadership group alongside Nick Smith and Heath Grundy, while Dan Hannebery, Luke Parker and Dane Rampe named vice-captains. Kennedy claimed his third Sydney best and fairest in 2016 after an outstanding year filled with accolades, and has recommitted to the club until the end of 2020. “Josh is a highly-valued member of out leadership group who consistently sets high standards every week and is a significant driver of our team’s performance,” coach John Longmire said of the appointment. “There’s no doubt that his teammates feel his presence when they run onto the field with him — he’s got a rare ability to lift those around him.”The outgoing captains were also keen to pass on their congratulations to Kennedy, and revealed their motivation for stepping away from the top job. “We’ll be right beside Joey to help him along the way and we will be right behind out new vice captains, sharing our experiences,” McVeigh said. “This is about handing over the baton to the next group who will take our football club into the future. It happened for us — Craig Bolton stepped aside for me and Adam Goodes did the same for Kieran, so it’s a natural progression.”last_img


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *